Online Education Fest

Join ANAKBAYAN Canada for our Online ED (Educational Discussion) Fest!

The revolutionary spirit and immense agitation remains unwavering, especially in times such as these!

ANAKBAYAN Canada would like to announce our Online ED (Educational Discussion) Fest! We have a packed lineup of educational discussions, film screenings, and activities to join whenever you are.

These workshops are open to all ANAKBAYAN members, allies, and those interested in learning more about the Philippines and the growing people’s movement for national democracy. Please see the list of sessions and their respective times below.

If you are interested in attending, please register online at bit.ly/ed-fest and we’ll send you the Zoom link.

ANAKBAYAN Orientation
March 26, 7:45pm EDT | 5:45pm MDT | 4:45pm PDT

Learn about ANAKBAYAN, its revolutionary history, the role of youth, and how we do our work in Canada to support the movement in the Philippines.

National Situationer
March 26, 7:45pm EDT | 5:45pm MDT | 4:45pm PDT

The administration praised itself in a ‘Duterte Legacy’ campaign, even with almost two-and-a-half years still left in its term. It will backfire as the public becomes more discerning than the administration assumes. The durability of the Duterte regime will be tested in 2020. Ever greater efforts are needed to arrest the continued backsliding of the country’s fledgling democracy in the remaining years of the Duterte watch.

Join us to learn about the political and economic situation in the Philippines over the last few years under the Duterte regime.

“Parasite” Screening & Discussion
March 27, 7:45pm EDT | 5:45pm MDT | 4:45pm PDT

Join an online screening of Boon Jong-ho’s “Parasite”. A story about greed and class discrimination and the symbiotic relationship between the wealthy Park family and the destitute Kim clan. We will screen the movie and have a light discussion after the film.

Philippine Society & Revolution
March 29 and April 5, 3:45pm EDT | 1:45pm MDT | 12:45pm PDT

Have you ever wondered why the Philippines is rich in resources, but the majority of the people remain in poverty? The answer lies in our continuing history of systemic oppression. Learn about this as well as all the ways the Philippine people resist against the oppressive powers that be.

Our Migration Stories: Art Workshop
March 31, 1:45pm EDT | 11:45am MDT | 10:45am PDT

All Filipino families in Canada have a personal story of migration. These narratives tie into the institutionalized system of Filipino migration: 6,000 kababayans leave the homeland daily, many seeking better career opportunities abroad. In this online workshop, explore migration on the personal and political levels through drawing and collage.

“The Nightcrawlers” Screening & Discussion
April 4, 7:30pm EDT | 5:30pm MDT | 4:30pm PDT

“The Nightcrawlers” is an unflinching exposé of Filipino President Duterte’s war on drugs, in which some claim over 30,000 people have been killed. A small group of determined photojournalists are on a mission to expose the true cost of the violent campaign. In covering both sides of the conflict, they reveal a harrowing twist behind Duterte’s deadly crusade.

Director Alex Mora and photojournalist Raffy Lerma will join us for a Q&A and discussion.

Propaganda for the People
April 8, 7:45pm EDT | 5:45pm MDT | 4:45pm PDT

Propaganda is an important tool in educating, organizing, and mobilizing the masses for genuine change. It unifies the people towards militant action, and raises the political consciousness of the people as well as their collective actions. Learn why propaganda rooted is in the masses is important, and how to execute it effectively in this virtual educational discussion.

The Long Road to Peace: GRP-NDFP Peace Talks [NEW DATE]
April 11, 3:45pm EDT | 1:45pm MDT | 12:45pm PDT

There has been a civil war in the Philippines for over 50 years. Since the 80s, peace negotiations between the Government of the Republic of the Philippines and the revolutionary NDFP government have taken place.

This discussion will study the history of the peace processes in the Philippines. We will compare the GRP’s approach to peace vs the NDFP’s.

%d bloggers like this: